Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Poll dates likely to be announced today


- 3rd phase on 23rd April.

With the announcement of poll dates, the State government has been notified to strictly implement the model code of conduct with immediate effect.

"The seven-phase election reflects the law and order situation in the state. how people were stopped from exercising their democratic rights", CPM politburo member Mohammed Salim said, referring to the violence that took place during the panchayat polls in the state previous year.

The JK political parties had pitched state and Lok Sabha polls be held simeltaneously before a panel of commission, which visited the state last week. Both the states will go to polls in a single phase.

As the Election Commission of India (EC) on Sunday announced the seven-phase election schedule for the upcoming general election, leaders across the political spectrum reacted as they prepare themselves to campaign for the Lok Sabha election 2019.

In the upcoming CWC meet, to be held in Ahmedabad on March 12, the party will finalise the party's manifesto, which has been in the works since October past year.

The required electronic voting machines and paper trail machines are in place to be deployed in almost 10 lakh poling stations across 543 Lok Sabha constituencies. Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Odisha, Sikkim, Telangana, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, West Bengal, Andaman and Lakshadweep. Since the Jammu and Kashmir Assembly has been dissolved, the EC is bound to hold fresh polls there as well within a six-month period, which will end in May.

"Don't think BJP will benefit" from the seven-phase election, but the "people would suffer, we feel bad about that", said Mr Hakim, who is also a minister in Mamata Banerjee's government.

"If that is true, then how could the Lok Sabha polls be held?" The last date for filing of nominations is March 25.

The meeting has been scheduled for 12 PM today, and would be chaired by chief election commissioner Sunil Arora, News18 reported.

Notably, the term of the present Lok Sabha ends on June 3.