New pair called up for Black Caps T20 series against India


A 4-0 lead will be India's biggest series win (across formats) in their 52 years of touring New Zealand having first visited the country back in 1967.

India had already made a decision to rest captain Virat Kohli for the final two matches of the series before it began, installing Rohit Sharma as skipper in his place.

In the other camp, MS Dhoni was not yet fit, but he handed over a new cap to arguably one of the most exciting debutants in recent times. Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli had a century-run partnership between them.

Mitchell - son of former All Blacks coach John Mitchell - has been included after a strong Super Smash campaign and some solid form for New Zealand A in one-day cricket, while Tickner will join the team for the third match in Hamilton; replacing Lockie Ferguson.

For New Zealand, everything seems to have gone haywire since the start of the series and skipper Kane Williamson has agreed that they have been completely outplayed by India. If there is one player in the New Zealand squad that has played well, it is the veteran Ross Taylor.

The three-match series will be double-headers alongside women's matches between the two sides on the same pitch. Kane Williamson is back leading the side, while Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips and Seth Rance miss out from those that played in the Sri Lanka series. Khaleel Ahmed or Mohammed Siraj might get a go in place of him while the spin twins will continue to feature with Bhuvneshwar Kumar taking the new ball. "We should not end up in a situation where the main XI has played and the reserves have not got enough game time and then they suddenly have to play an important crucial game in the World Cup", Sridhar had told on Wednesday. Consistency will be key for Hardik Pandya in the lead up to the World Cup and has got seven ODIs and five T20Is to settle into his rhythm.

What are the squads for the 4th ODI between India and New Zealand?

Probable XI: Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (wk), Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Khaleel Ahmed, Yuzvendra Chahal.

New Zealand have asked Henry Nicholls to open with Martin Guptill, Todd Astle comes in for Sodhi, and James Neesham populates the all-rounder's spot with Colin de Grandhomme.