Karnataka Assembly polls: BJP releases its first list of 72 candidates


Siddaramaiah was in the national capital to attend the party's steering committee meeting to screen the candidates for the Karnataka polls. The Janata Dal (Secular) has already announced candidates for 126 constituencies.

Ahead of assembly elections in Karnataka, All India Mahila Empowerment Party (AIMEP) released its manifesto in the city on Wednesday.

As soon as news of the list broke out, Congress announced that the list was fake.

"Compared to BJP, we will have less rebellion".

Among the candidates are numerous party's 48 sitting or outgoing legislators from the state's northern, central and southern region, including Bengaluru, which has 28 assembly constituencies.

The Congress is frantically working towards announcing its first list for the upcoming Karnataka Assembly elections, scheduled to be held on May 12. The AICC has not approved the list of candidates yet.

Sources said that Siddaramaiah is keen to contest from Chamundeshwari, but many in the party want him also to fight from the safe seat of Badami in North Karnataka.

Veteran state leaders Jagadish Shettar and KS Eswarappa will contest from Hubli Dharwad Central and Shimoga Assembly seats, respectively, it said.

"I worked as the president of youth congress committee, joint secretary for State youth congress, president for Davanagere INTECH, district youth congress general secretary and in other capacities", he said.

Sriramulu is the party's Lok Sabha member from Bellari reserved (ST) constituency in the state's northwest region, which has rich iron ore mines.