Parliament proceedings disrupted for the 4th day


TDP MPs and Congress member KVP Ramachandra Rao held posters demanding special status to Andhra Pradesh to make up for the deficit arising from carving out of Telengana.

Earlier, both the Houses witnessed successive adjournments with Congress, Trinamool Congress, TDP, TRS, YSR Congres, AIADMK and Shiv Sena members stalling the proceedings by raising slogans and waving placards.

While the AIADMK was demanding setting up of the Cauvery Board to settle water disputes with neighbouring states, few others were seen holding placards of Dravidian movement founder Thanthai Periyar, whose statue was defaced recently in Tamil Nadu. Former aviation minister and TDP member P. Ashok Gajapathi Raju, who resigned from Prime Minister Narendra Modi's council of ministers on Thursday over his party's demand, was seen standing with his party colleagues, in the Well of the lower house.

However when the House met for the day and before the disruptions began, Speaker Sumitra Mahajan extended greetings on the International Women's Day and said women's empowerment was the need of the hour as well as a big challenge.

The logjam in Lok Sabha continued for the fifth consecutive day on Friday amid continuing.

Ms Parveen would replace Basawaraj Patil, whose term expires on April 2, Mr Naidu said, adding that she has been a mayor and the chairperson of the Bihar Mahila Aayog.

Congress MP Pramod Tewari tried to raise point of order under rule 167 over the issue of PNB bank scam.

Naidu also agreed to a suggestion by some members to have a woman member in the panel for Vice Chairman panel.

"No one is allowing even me to speak in the house", the Speaker told the media here when asked about the opposition leaders' charge that they were not allowed to speak in the Lok Sabha. Nearly immediately thereafter, the opposition members again stormed the Well raising slogans and displaying placards.

He said the Speaker urged all party leaders for a smooth transaction of business and running of the Lok Sabha.