Presidential election 2017: It's a non-Jatav Dalit versus a dynastic Dalit


Kovind filed his nomination papers in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP President Amit Shah and Chief Ministers of NDA-ruled states.

Paswan said that even the people of Bihar are angry with Nitish Kumar for being in contact with a corrupt party and invited him to join BJP-led coalition.

Announcing the candidature of Kumar, whose father, ex-deputy prime minister Jagjivan Ram, was often hailed as one of the tallest Dalit leaders in the country, Congress President Sonia Gandhi said, "17 Opposition leaders have chose to jointly field Meira Kumar".

The opposition zeroed in on former Lok Sabha speaker Meira Kumar for three good reasons - her caste, her state and her party. Yesterday, Mr Kumar said that unlike the rest of the opposition, his party will vote for the BJP's candidate, Ram Nath Kovind.

However, dashing the Opposition's hope, the JD (U) rejected Lalu Prasad's request to reconsider its support to the NDA's presidential nominee, saying its stand is based on merit and it will stick it. But when the defeat of the Opposition candidate is certain they have fielded her as a scapegoat.

".Don't know what made Kumar to move away and extend support to a RSS man", he told reporters on his arrival at the JayAprakash Narayan Airport at Patna from New Delhi.

"It will be a historical mistake if Nitish does not rethink about his decision".

"I will meet Nitish Kumar and will urge him to change his decision to support the NDA candidate". And just merely they were informed about Kovind's selection. "There could not have been a better candidate than Meira Kumar for the post of President", said Ghulam Nabi Azad, leader of the opposition in the Rajya Sabha.

Kovind's candidature has been opposed by many Opposition parties over his affiliation with the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

"There will be no impact of this (different views of the RJD and the JD (U)) on the Grand Alliance government in the future", Prasad said.

BJP Presidential candidate Ram Nath Kovind files his nomination as the 15th President of India in Parliament House. Consequently, 17 Opposition parties, including Rashtriya Lok Dal leader Ajit Singh, lined up for the deliberations.

CPI-M General Secretary Sitaram Yechury said: "From among Meira Kumar, Bhalchandra Mungekar, Prakash Ambedkar and Shinde, everyone agreed on Meira Kumar's name without any reservation whatsoever".

While Derek O' Brien represented the Trinamool, the SP sent Ramgopal Yadav and the BSP Satish Mishra. The sources suggested that fielding a Congress candidate is something that will come in the way of bringing the JD (U) back to the Opposition flock notwithstanding her being from Bihar.